It is governed by a Board of Commissioners that is composed of  seven members, five appointed by the  Town of Huntington for five year terms, and two residents elected to a two year term by fellow residents.

The Housing Authority of the Town of Huntington is a public agency whose business is to:

  • Ensure that safe, decent and quality affordable housing opportunities exist for families of low income
  • Break the poverty cycle by serving as a catalyst for our residents to become economically self-sufficient
  • Create meaningful partnerships to maximize available community resources for our residents

The Town of Huntington Housing Authority (HHA) was created in 1966 to build and manage 40 units of public housing known as Gateway Gardens. In 2011, the HHA converted the property to a low-income housing tax credit property and continued to manage the 40 units. The US Department of Housing and Urban Development designated the HHA as the Administrator of 573 Housing Choice Vouchers. The HHA also purchased a single family income home in the Huntington Station area and has self-managed the property since the 1990’s.

In 2001, the HHA created a not-for-profit organization known as the Millennium Hills Housing Development Fund (MHHDFC) and built 84 units of affordable housing. From the 84 units, the HHA facilitated the sale of 44 units and presently manages the remaining 40 rental townhouse units. The MHHDFC, when exercising their First Right of Repurchase as it relates to the 44 units, has designated the HHA to act as their agents to purchase, rehabilitate and sell units at Millennium Hills.

The HHA also has a Mortgage Banking Corporation which provides low-interest loans to further the organization’s mission to provide safe, decent and affordable housing.

Huntington Housing Authority Board of Commissioners

James McGoldrick



Robert G. Fonti



Barry Lites


Sidney Joyner


Administrative Staff Members

Simone S. Ross extension 190

Executive Director


Assistant Director of Housing

Shari Baker, MA extension 110

FSS Coordinator

Vacant extension 113

Rental Subsidy Technician

Ra-Shime Rivers extension 150


Nicole Nolan extension 100

Office Assistant

Christopher Dynia

Maintenance Mechanic

LLoyd Phipps


Board Meeting Minutes